Indian squad for the T20 World cup has been announced: Dhawan dropped, Ashwin makes a comeback

B y Abhishek Srinivasan


The BCCI has announced the 15 man squad for the T20 World Cup which will be held in the UAE. The team will be led by Virat Kohli. Rohit Sharma will be his deputy. There were many shockers concerning the selection. In-form opener Shikhar Dhawan was left out of the squad. Yuzvendra Chahal too was not picked, leggie Rahul Chahar was preferred over him. Ravichandran Ashwin made a surprise comeback into the T20 squad, he last played a t20 for India in 2017. his consistent performance in the IPL earned him a spot in the squad.



Chahal, Dhawan miss out

The surprise exclusion is that of Yuzvendra Chahal who had a decent in the T20I series in Sri Lanka. Shikhar too was in form in the previous IPL scoring back to back centuries. The exclusion of Dhawan means that captain Virat Kohli will open the batting with Rohit Sharma. Rahul Chahar will play a crucial role for the team in the absence of Chahal.




Shreyas Iyer, Thakur, and Deepak Chahar are the reserves

Shreyas Iyer will be returning to his full strength after a shoulder injury, he may be unlucky to miss out on the selection but he is one of the 3 reserves traveling with the squad. Deepak Chahar was always a regular member of the t20 side and Shardul Thakur makes the cut as well. These three players will be crucial if there is an injury.



Dhoni will be the mentor

Here is the top news of them all. Mahendra Singh Dhoni will be traveling as the mentor of the team. His inputs will be very valuable to all the players. The former India captain will work with head coach Ravi Shastri and the rest of the coaching staff during the entire tournament. Dhoni readily agreed to Shah’s request and will now join the team after the IPL.

India will begin their World cup campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan on the 24th of October. Here is the full squad of team India.

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here