Hosts India can fight lower-ranked Spain within the men’s Hockey tourney opener at the newly-built Birsa Munda International sports stadium in Rourkela on the inauguration day on January 13th.

Tokyo Olympics bronze medalists India, which are presently world No. five within the FIH rankings, are clubbed with England  (6), European country (8) and World Cup debutants Wales (16) in pool D..

On January 15 India can play their second match in Rourkela, against on England, before moving to the capital town of Bhubaneswar, wherever they’re going to face Wales in their final cluster match on January 19.

Pool A is headed up by world preferred Australia, which got the bronze prize at the last tourney in 2018. They were drawn together with 2016 Olympic champions Argentina, France and African champions South Africa.

Reigning world champions Belgium are the highest seed and that they were drawn in Pool B together with 2006 winners Germany, Korea and Japan.

Belgium successfully secured second, whereas Germany got fourth.

Pool C can feature last edition finalists Netherlands, stratified third within the world, together with Oceanica representative New Zealand, Malaysia enjoying their ninth tourney and debutants Chile.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here