Everything about the Tokyo Olympics 2020


The Tokyo Olympics which was scheduled to take place in 2020 is finally happening this year. The Olympics will begin on 23rd July 2021 with the opening ceremony taking place at the National Stadium in Tokyo on July 23. The closing ceremony will take place on the 8th of August at the same venue. This event will be taking place after it being postponed by a year. This will be the first time in the history of the Olympics in which the event has been rescheduled rather than canceled. The summer Paralympics will be held from 24th August to 5th September.
The Olympic Games will consist of 339 events among 33 different sports. There have been new sports that have been introduced, including 3×3 basketball, freestyle BMX, and Madison cycling among others.
There will be a total of 11,155 athletes who will be participating in the Olympics. The number of countries who will take part will be 206 as per expectation.
The motto of the Olympics is ‘United by Emotion’.
The official mascot for the Tokyo Olympics 2020 is known as Miratoiwa.

India’s bid to win
India will be sending a big contingent to the Olympics consisting of 124 athletes who will be competing with all their might.

Where to watch
The Olympics will be live telecasted on the Sony Sports Network in India. The channels Sony Ten 1 HD/SD and Sony Ten 2 HD/SD will be broadcasting live with English commentary and the channel Sony Ten 3 HD/SD will be broadcasting with Hindi commentary.

The opening ceremony will begin from 4:30 pm Indian Standard Time and the sports events will begin from 5:30 am Indian Standard Time


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here