The ICC World T20 is finally here

By Abhishek Srinivasan


The ICC World T20 is finally here. All the teams have been gearing up for the most prestigious t20 tournament. The 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is the seventh ICC Men’s T20 World Cup tournament, with the matches taking place in the United Arab Emirates and Oman from 17 October to 14 November 2021. The West Indies are the defending champions.

The group stage of the tournament has already begun with 8 teams competing out of which only 4 will qualify into the super 12s. The super 12s are divided into 2 groups of 6 teams each and the top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals. The tournament began on 17 October 2021, with the tournament’s final scheduled to be played on 14 November 2021. The preliminary rounds of the tournament are being played in the UAE and Oman. Round 1 will include twelve matches between eight teams (Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman and Papua New Guinea) from which four teams will progress to the Super 12s. The first two matches are already completed as Oman thrash Papua New Guinea and Scotland stun Bangladesh.

The tournament will take place in four venues: the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground. India are the official hosts of the tournament even though it is being held in UAE.

India will begin their journey in ICC T20 World Cup 2021 with the match against Pakistan. The India vs Pakistan match will take place on October 24 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium. India are part of group 2 and has qualified for the super 12 round.

The Indian squad for the world cup is as follows.

Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami

Reserves: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here