Salah, Kerr triumph PFA Player of the Year awards

By Piyush


Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah was named the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Player of the Year for the second time and Chelsea’s Sam Kerr earned the women’s award.

Salah, who shared this season’s Premier League golden boot for the top scorer with Tottenham Hotspur’s Son Heung-min, also triumphed the award in the 2017-18 season.

Salah, 29, netted 31 goals in all tournaments for Liverpool and assisted them triumph the League Cup and FA Cup.

“This one is a really good one to win, especially because it’s voted by players. It shows you that you’ve worked really hard and you get what you worked for,” Salah stated.

“I have my room with trophies in a cabinet and I made sure that I had another space for one more. I always keep space and just try to imagine that the trophies are going to come.”

Kerr, who top-scored in the Women’s Super League this edition, became the first Australian player to triumph the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award.

“It’s a massive honour I think, whenever you’re voted by your peers. I think that’s the highest honour as a player so, it’s an amazing feeling,” stated Kerr.

Manchester City’s Phil Foden and Lauren Hemp preserved their trophies for the Young Player of the Year, whilst former England coach Roy Hodgson and Brighton & Hove Albion Women’s manager Hope Powell secured merit awards for their beneficence to the game.

“I never won any trophies as a player unfortunately, so it is nice to be recognised by fellow professionals. It will have pride of place,” stated Hodgson, who declared his retirement last month.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here