IPL 2022 Mega Auction – New Rules and Captivating Player Retentions

By Piyush


The 2022 IPL Mega Auction is all set to take place in January to February 2022, and with the new rules and regulations, the BCCI, and the addition of two new teams, supporters and team owners are keen to see the new players and what the new team sheets will build.

One thing that is sure, the 2022 IPL will be a rememberable season, full of action.

New Player Retention Rules

Current reports state that each team will preserve a maximum of four players of their 2021 roster and with unavailability to right to match. When teams have decided which of their players they would like to preserve, the two new teams Lucknow and Ahmedabad will choose three new players ahead of the Mega Auction.

Lucknow and Ahmedabad can choose a maximum of one non-native Indian player and two Indian players.

The other eight persisting teams will be permitted to keep either two Indian players and two non-native Indian players or two non-native Indian players and two Indian players.

The new retention rules add a level of enthusiasm to the Mega Auction as team owners will have to assure they retain the correct players to win the 2022 IPL.

Another new rule change initiated for the Mega Auction is the initiation of an INR 90 crore (USD 11 924 397.00) salary cap.

This salary cap can be swayed by the number of players each team opts to retain. The following deductions will be made to each team’s salary cap when retentions are made:

  • One Player – INR 14 Crore (USD 1 853 923.40) deducted.
  • Two Players – INR 24 Crore (USD 3 178 154.40) deducted.
  • Three Players – INR 33 Crore (USD 4 370 137.20) deducted.
  • Four Players – INR 42 Crore (USD 5 560 153.20) deducted.

Current Offered Player Retentions

The ICC Cricket Schedule has expressed that the following players have been retained by their old team:

  • Chennai Super Kings – MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, and Rutuaj Gaikwad
  • Mumbai Indians – Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Rohit Sharma, and Kieron Pollard.
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore (RBC) – Virat Kohli, Glen Maxell, and Mohammad Siraj.
  • Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) – Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer, Andre Russell, and Sunil Narine.
  • Delhi Capitals – Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje, and Axar Patel.
  • Punjab Kings – Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh.
  • Rajasthan Royals – Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, and Yashasvi Jaiswal.
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad – Abdul Samad, Kane Williamson, and Umran Malik.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here