Dhoni’s fifty foiled as KKR booked their win

By Piyush


The 15th season of the Indian Premier League started with Kolkata Knight Riders trouncing Chennai Super Kings by six wickets at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

KKR vanquished CSK by six wickets in the chartbuster season opener of the IPL 2022.

Trailing 132 for the victory, Ajinkya Rahane hit a magnificent 44 prior skipper Shreyas Iyer scored an undefeated 20 to augment them past the finish line.

Earlier, Umesh Yadav fetched two early wickets before Varun Chakaravarthy and Andre Russell set foot in the wicket-takers column, leaving CSK wobbling at 61/5.

However, Ravindra Jadeja (26*) and MS Dhoni (50*) did a dazzling job to revive Chennai’s innings following early blows.

The pair partnered 70 to assist Chennai post 131/5 in 20 overs. On the bowling front, Umesh grabbed two whilst Russell and Chakaravarthy booked one wicket each.

CSK, one of the most compatible sides since the tourney’s establishment in 2008, had conquered KKR to lift their fourth IPL title previous year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here