Bayern Munich triumph 10th consecutive Bundesliga title

By Piyush


Bayern Munich defeated rivals Borussia Dortmund 3-1 on Saturday to earn their 10th straight Bundesliga title with three games to remain.

First-half goals from Serge Gnabry and Robert Lewandowski put the club 2-0 above prior Emre Can cut the deficit with a penalty in 52nd-minute. Jamal Musiala banged Bayern’s third goal seven minutes from the end.

Bayern have now triumphed 31 Bundesliga titles since the establishment of the top division in 1963, and 32 German league titles in all, whilst Thomas Mueller became the first player to triumph 11 league titles.

“Just for these moments… this is the best,” Mueller stated. “We really wanted to win it here. There was a lot of frustration in the past days and we could play it off today.”

Bayern were eager to book the title — their only silverware of the season — in the league’s big match in front of a 75,000-strong home crowd to make up for their Champions League quarter-final surprising way out to Villarreal earlier this month.

“This is not boring,” Mueller stated of Bayern’s domestic dominance. “This is outstanding. The more you win the greedier you get every year.”

League top scorer Lewandowski did great in the 34th when Gnabry got possession and Mueller fed the Pole who put in through the legs of Hitz for his 33rd league goal.

Lewandowski, whose future at the club is doubtful with an agreement extension past his current 2023 deal is still to be finalised, is on the way to be the Bundesliga top scorer for a 7th time and the 5th straight time.

Dortmund were given a penalty at the start of the second half when Marco Reus was knocked down by Joshua Kimmich and Can converted it. The visitors kept up the pressure but flunked to score again despite of the efforts from Reus and Erling Haaland.

Dortmund are on 63 points and Bayer Leverkusen on 55.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here