Afghanistan declare ODI and T20I squad for Zimbabwe tour

By Piyush


Afghanistan on Tuesday declared its squads for the 3 ODIs s and as many T20 matches on their tour of Zimbabwe next month.

The 3 T20Is will count towards the ICC T20I rankings, on the other hand the 3 ODI games will be part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.

Afghanistan are 5th on the points table of the 13-team league. A qualification round for the 2023 World Cup (50 overs) is to be conducted in India.

All-rounder Gulbadin Naib has been dropped off due to poor form, whilst slow left-arm spinner Zia ur Rehman Akbar, leading wicket-taker in the recently ended Green Afghanistan One-Day Cup, has been brought in the 16-man ODI squad.

Spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman and fellow slow bowler Qais Ahmad willnot play the T20I series because of their commitments in the T20 Blast in England and are substituted by Ihsanullah Jannat and Noor Ahmad.

Hashmatullah Shahidi will be the skipper of the ODI squad whilst Mohammad Nabi will lead for the T20Is, played from 4-14 June.


ODI Squad:

Hashmatullah Shahidi (captain), Rahmat Shah, Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Ibrahim Zadran, Ikram Alikhail, Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan, Riaz Hassan, Shahidullah Kamal, Yamin Ahmadzai, Zia ur Rahman Akbar.


T20I Squad:

Mohammad Nabi (captain), Najibullah Zadran, Afsar Zazai, Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ihsanullah Janat, Karim Janat, Nijat Masoud, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf and Usman Ghani.


ODI Series:

04 June – 1st ODI, Harare
06 June – 2nd ODI, Harare
09 June – 3rd ODI, Harare


T20I Series:

11 June – 1st T20I, Harare
12 June – 2nd T20I, Harare
14 June – 3rd T20I, Harare


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here