ICC welcomes Mongolia, Tajikistan and Switzerland as new members


The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the inclusion of 3 new member nations, Mongolia, Tajikistan, and Switzerland as new members. This was decided in the 78th annual general meeting. The three nations were welcomed virtually in an online meeting that was conducted. Tajikistan and Mongolia were welcomed as the 22nd and 23rd members of the Asian region and Switzerland was welcomed as the 35th member of the Europe region. The total number of member nations in the ICC is now 106 with 94 associates.

The Mongolian Cricket Association was established in 2007. It became the official administrator of the sport in 2018. They have a growing junior cricket structure in place already with a coaching program in 16 schools. Mongolia considers women’s cricket a priority as 39% of females make up the participants playing school cricket. Mongolia will host the International Youth Green Games in September 2021 where cricket has been included for the first time. On joining the ICC Mongolian Cricket Association President said, “Joining the ICC is fundamental in the establishment of a coherent structure for cricket in Mongolia. I am happy to see this noble game helping the young people here, contributing valuable experiences and giving them skills and ethics that they can take into other areas of their lives”. He believes that this would be the best way to sow the seed of cricket in Mongolia.

Cricket has been played for a long time in Switzerland. It was first played in 1817 and they became an associate in 2014. Since being recognized as an associate they have led in the unification of the sport. The federation consists of 33 active clubs and they organize 3 men’s competitions. The Switzerland Cricket President said,” We are immensely proud and excited to have been accepted as an Associate Member of the ICC. This is a reward for all the people involved in cricket in Switzerland that has helped develop the game from the main ex-pat sport just ten years ago, to the established Swiss national sport that it is today”. He also stated that this step will boost the development of cricket in Switzerland.

The Tajikstan Cricket Association was formed in 2011 and has led in the development of infrastructure and building of domestic cricket structures with the help of the Ministry of Sports and Olympic Committee. There are 22 men’s teams and 15 women’s teams across the associations. On joining the ICC the President of Tajikistan Cricket Federation stated,” The Tajikistan Cricket Federation is delighted to be accepted as an Associate Member of the ICC, having fulfilled all the membership requirements and we are very confident that we can successfully grow cricket in Tajikistan”.
ICC General Manager – development William Glenwright said that they are extremely delighted to have the latest 3 nations as a part of the ICC family and this reflects the growth of the game globally. He also stated that they have planned and projects to deliver in partnership with members to navigate the impact of Covid and achieve transformation for the sport globally.

Zambia and Russia are no longer a part of the ICC after their membership was suspended at the ICC AGM in 2019. They have time until the next AGM to show compliance or else they will be terminated permanently as a member of the ICC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here