Groups declared for IPL 2022

By Piyush


BCCI has vouched the two groups for the IPL 2022 edition. The addition of two new franchises has given rise to the league to have two separate groups.

The teams in each group were decided based on the number of titles triumphed by the franchises and the number of features in the final of the IPL. Hence, Mumbai Indians with five titles and Chennai Super Kings with four titles were ordered first.

Each team will compete in 14 matches in the league stage where they will face off twice versus the other franchise in its group, and once in opposition to each franchise in the other group.

The tourney will kick off on March 26th succeeding the meeting of the IPL Governing Council. As many as 55 games of the league stage will be played across three venues in Mumbai whilst 15 remaining matches will be played at the DY Patil Stadium in Pune. The venues for the playoff matches will be decided later.

“The IPL will kick off on March 26, the full schedule will come soon. We will also have crowds but as per the policy of the Maharashtra government. Whether it will be 25 or 50 percent of the stadium capacity will be decided by the government instruction,” the IPL chairman, Brijesh Patel, notified.

The entire schedule will be announced soon and the host broadcaster, Star Sports, has already asked the commentators to make themselves available from March 9 itself.


IPL 2022 Group A Teams:

• Mumbai Indians (MI)
• Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
• Rajasthan Royals (RR)
• Delhi Capitals (DC)
• Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)


IPL 2022 Group B Teams:

• Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
• Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
• Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
• Punjab Kings (PBKS)
• Gujarat Titans (GT)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here