BCCI Has Appointed KL Rahul To Lead India

By Sahil


Star cricketer KL Rahul will head India in the three-match ODI series in opposition to Zimbabwe, a deceleration from the BCCI stated on Thursday. Shikhar Dhawan has been named his deputy. Before that, in the beginning 15-member squad report by the BCCI on July 30, Rahul’s name was not there and Dhawan was anticipate to lead the team.

Nevertheless, on Thursday, the BCCI said in a statement that Rahul has been evident to play. The three ODIs will be played at the Harare Sports Club on August 18, 20 and 22.

“The BCCI Medical Team has examined KL Rahul and give clean chit him to play in the approching three-match ODI series in Zimbabwe. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has assigned him the captain of the side and named Shikhar Dhawan as his deputy,” the BCCI said in a statement.

The Cricketer primarily been named in India’s squad for Asia Cup too. He is back in the Indian team after a long time. A few months back Rahul had undergo an injury before the T20I series against South Africa, and he did not feature in the five-match contest. He underwent a surgery and missed several series.

Then Rahul tested positive for COVID-19 ahead of the Tour of West Indies and could not travel with the side. At present, Rahul will now get crucial game-time ahead of the Asia Cup T20 contest to be played in the UAE from September 27.

Some high-ranked players like Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah were not included in the squad. Rahul Tripathi, who plays for Sunrisers Hyderabad in Indian Premier League, was included in the ODI squad after his tremendous performance in the 2022 edition. In addition to that, in 14 games, he scored 413 runs at an average of 37.55 and hit three fifties. He was the second-highest run-getter for his side.

Washington Sundar who is a all-rounder and bowler Deepak Chahar have also made a comeback to the side after struggling with injuries. With the inclusion of Rahul, the BCCI selection committee has named a 16-member squad.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs: KL Rahul (Captain) Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here